2004 Award Results

The SLF is delighted to announce the results of our 2004 Fountain Award judging! The Fountain Award is given to a speculative short story of exceptional literary quality, chosen from work nominated by magazine and anthology editors. Our jurors for 2004 were: Matthew Cheney, Gavin Grant, Patricia McKillip, Vandana Singh, and Alison Smith. They have chosen a winner and selected the following short list for honorable mention.


The Annals of Eelin-Ok” by Jeffrey Ford
Published in The Faery Reel

Honorable Mentions:

“Cold Fires” by M. Rickert
The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction
“The Faery Handbag” by Kelly Link
The Faery Reel
“The Golden Age of Fire Escapes” by John Aegard
Rabid Transit: Petting Zoo
“The Immortal Feet” by Katharine Haake
One Story
“The Lethe Man” by David J. Schwartz
“Music Lessons” by Douglas Lain
Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet
“Retrospective” by Sonya Taaffe
Not One Of Us
“Things Penguins Do” by Katherin Nolte
Fence Magazine
“The Wolf at the Door” by Rebecca Curtis
“Zavtra aptBaZ” by Liz Williams

More information on the Fountain Award

Questions about this year’s awards process may be directed to Karen Meisner, Awards Administrator – FountainAward@speculativeliterature.org